Dilemma

Via Prompt Dilemma

Hi guys and welcome back to Monday. Aftér a moderately well-behaved weekend, I am back with another post, with a very interesting dilemma for you to face with me. If this sounds a bit heavy for Monday morning never fear, I am just embracing my flair for the dramatic. Let’s get started.

Dilemma 1: My first question comes in the form of a me vs them question that I’m sure everyone can appreciate. I’ve found that hands down one of the most popular post series I have done are my reviews. Which turned my blog from a small and unknown corner of the internet into a moderately popular unknown with a consistent readership. The reason for this, as discussed in previous articles, is because I had written something that other people wanted. This was good because it made for more people visiting my blog, but it left me less time during the week to work on writing my own novels which was less good. The annoying truth is that producing content that will draw people to your blog will take time and effort, and won’t always have the desired payoff. My tip here is one of patience, because although all this effort won’t lead to a dramatic increase in readership, book sales, etc. it will help. Keep at it, get involved in your online community, and there will be an increase. I know taking time away from something you love can be difficult, but it’s necessary sacrifice to help doing what you love become a career.

Dilemma 2: My next dilemma comes from the writing tips I give out when I write these articles and others across the net. It’s a little embarrassing but when I’m giving you guys my advice because a voice in the back of my head keeps complaining that giving away all my best ideas is going to make standing out as an author that much harder. I hate this little voice, and it is always ignored. I want people who read my posts to succeed as an author, not just because I know what a success would mean to me if I was in their shoes, but also because blogging about writing and not giving usable information is utterly pointless. You might have a little voice of your own, and my tip would be to silence it. Give people your best because they deserve it, and because you are selling yourself short as a creative professional if you do anything else.

Dilemma 3: my final dilemma of this post stems from reviewing other people’s work, although it can extend to most jobs. One of the greatest challenges when I’m asked to critique someone else’s work is being critical. I’ve written books and I know how much it hurts when critics poke at the books sore spots. However much empathy I feel, it’s my duty to poke (excuse me while I giggle). If I review a terrible book and don’t say as much, the author is never going to improve in their profession because they won’t see where they need to improve. That’s not to say you must be cruel when doing it, just that you must be honest.

That’s it for my dilemmas, I hope you can take something away from these, and I hope you found them interesting to read. I will be back tommorow with another article. As always criticisms, comments and smiley faces are appreciated in the comments.

Until then, don’t worry too much